“The nail that sticks out gets hammered down” – Japanese Proverb

Man I resonate with this so much and I feel a lot of people would think the same. Some may just fall short in courage to stick and stand out. I advocate for it, absolutely. I may tease people for differences but deep down, just find your own identity and stand in it.

Using my late topknot as a example, it was a hairy nail 😛 The whole process of growing it was one of the hardest things to stick to. All the teasing of it, and, it hits hard. When you hold something close to your core character you feel like it’s attacking your identity. And don’t tell me hair isn’t a big deal. The amount of times I hear: “I go to this one hair dresser how knows exactly what I want” or “I ask them for just a trim.. you call this a trim?!”. It’s like what I was growing was a big sign saying “people to make fun of me” and trust, some people have said some pretty harsh things. I don’t understand why people thought it was okay, but, I guess I did expect it. Honestly, why should it really matter what I look like, there’s so much more to me than my look. It’s not like my hair was a snow storm of dandruff. There was no health concerns there or anything. So then what really was the problem? Some people would often say I look like a girl when I have my hair down but I don’t see much wrong with that.

I got a lot of mixed responses from my new hair style (on a side note I searched up what “hairdo” means and it’s specific to a women’s hair style. The more you know :P) and some were for it, mostly against. I just reckon people just don’t like change and once you’re use to it you stop complaining. At the very same this is how I’m wired too but at the very least I’m trying to be more aware of it. People should really bloody do whatever they want, we all have the right to grow our hair a certain way and wear whatever clothes we want. Give that we aren’t truly offending anyone, being insensitive or hurting anyone who cares what our outer shell looks like. There is so much more to a person than what they look like. Lol I really hope this post has some cohesion and flow to it but oh well.

Anyway two things I wanna end on:

1.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=la0-5QFLr14

This is an excellent song. Absolutely fantastic! The lyrics are so lovely: “I see your true colours and that’s why I love you”. That really should be a reason to love someone. You see their true character and you like it, maybe even love it. Because:

“true colours are beautiful… like a rainbow” 🙂

It may be hard and I’m still on this journey but I predict that in finding yourself and standing firm in who that person is, not changing for the sake of others, you’ll be happy.

2. You’re unique..just like everyone else

Everyone has the right to build an identity that is their own. You don’t have to bow down to any person or any trends of this world. What every looks good is really different from person to person and at the end of the day if we aren’t our self then who are we?

Leave a Reply

